Tuesday Afternoon Book Club | February Selection

His Only Wife by Peace Adzo Medie

Print and eBook Options

This Library-led drop-in book club meets on the third Tuesday of the month at 2:00 PM via Zoom.

Book Club Kit copies are available for participants upon request from the Adult Information Desk (780-459-1682).

Register to drop-in and discuss this highly entertaining and informative read set in contemporary Ghana.

Afi Tekple is a young seamstress whose life is narrowing rapidly. She lives in a small town in Ghana with her widowed mother, spending much of her time in her uncle Pious’s house with his many wives and children. Then one day she is offered a life-changing opportunity—a proposal of marriage from the wealthy family of Elikem Ganyo, a man she doesn’t truly know. She acquiesces, but soon realizes that Elikem is not quite the catch he seemed. He sends a stand-in to his own wedding, and only weeks after Afi is married and installed in a plush apartment in the capital city of Accra does she meet her new husband. It turns out that he is in love with another woman, whom his family disapproves of; Afi is supposed to win him back on their behalf. But it is Accra that eventually wins Afi’s heart and gives her a life of independence that she never could have imagined for herself.

A brilliant scholar and a fierce advocate for women’s rights, author Peace Adzo Medie infuses her debut novel with intelligence and humor. For readers of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and Candice Carty-Williams, His Only Wife is the story of an indomitable and relatable heroine that illuminates what it means to be a woman in a rapidly changing world. (Publisher)

FURTHER READING

Author Biography

Author website

An Essay on fiction writing by Peace Adzo Medie

The PEN Ten: an interview with Peace Adzo Medie

Other Interviews & Profiles

Discussion Questions

A Bookbrowse book review

Other reviews

WATCH & LISTEN

Video Interviews with Peace Adzo Medie

 

Leave a Reply