Monday Evening Book Club | September Selection

Five Wives by Joan Thomas

“Book club only” print copies are available at the downtown location of the Library. To pick up a copy, visit the Information Desk on the 2nd floor.

Register here to discuss this riveting, wrenching account of evangelism and its legacy.

The Monday Evening Book Club meets on the second Monday of the month at 7:00 PM via Zoom.

In the tradition of The Poisonwood Bible and State of Wonder, a novel set in the rainforest of Ecuador about five women left behind when their missionary husbands are killed. Based on the shocking real-life events

In 1956, a small group of evangelical Christian missionaries and their families journeyed to the rainforest in Ecuador intending to convert the Waorani, a people who had never had contact with the outside world. The plan was known as Operation Auca. After spending days dropping gifts from an aircraft, the five men in the party rashly entered the “intangible zone.” They were all killed, leaving their wives and children to fend for themselves.

Five Wives is the fictionalized account of the real-life women who were left behind, and their struggles – with grief, with doubt, and with each other – as they continued to pursue their evangelical mission in the face of the explosion of fame that followed their husbands’ deaths.

Five Wives is a riveting, often wrenching story of evangelism and its legacy, teeming with atmosphere and compelling characters and rich in emotional impact.

Further reading

Interview: Why Joan Thomas wrote about the wives of missionaries killed trying to convert Ecuador’s Waorani people | CBC Books

Interview: The Chat with Governor General’s Literary Award Winner Joan Thomas | 49th Shelf

Review: Left Behind: A novel look at an evangelical mission | Literary Review of Canada

Review: Into the wild: Novelist’s latest offering a riveting fictional account of missionaries’ plight | Winnipeg Free Press

An Uncommon Victory for an Indigenous Tribe in the Amazon| The New Yorker

Watch & Listen

Interview: The Next Chapter with Shelagh Rogers – Nov. 30, 2019: Joan Thomas on Five Wives

Interview: Author! Author! with Joan Thomas and Jane Urqhart | Kingston WritersFest

Tuesday Afternoon Book Club | February Selection

Where the Crawdads Sing
by Delia Owens

Print| eBook (Libby) | eAudiobook (Libby)

Register to drop-in and discuss one of the most talked about and bestselling books in recent memory.

Additional “book club only” print copies are available at the downtown location of the Library.

To pick up a copy, come to the front doors of the Library inside St. Albert Place (face coverings are mandatory). Call 780-459-1682 when you arrive and be ready to provide your library barcode number, email address and phone number over the phone. A staff member will bring down your book to you after recording your contact information.

The Tuesday Afternoon Book Club meets on the third Tuesday of the month at 2:00 PM via Zoom.

Register to drop-in and discuss one of the most talked about and bestselling books in recent memory.

For years, rumors of the “Marsh Girl” have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life–until the unthinkable happens.

Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.

FURTHER READING

About Delia Owens

An Interview with Delia Owens | BookBrowse

A bona fide smash: Delia Owens talks all things ‘Where the Crawdads Sing’ | Amazon

Delia Owens: A Natural Way of Storytelling | BookPage

Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens review – in the swamps of North Carolina | The Guardian

The Dark History Behind the Year’s Bestselling Debut Novel | Slate

Questions for Discussion | Book Club Kit from deliaowens.com

VIDEO

Delia Owens on ‘Where the Crawdads Sing’ | CBS News

Delia Owens: ‘Where the Crawdads Sing’ | PBS Bookwatch

Tuesday Afternoon Drop-In Book Club | January Selection

Mr. Dickens and His Carol
by Samantha Silva

This title is only available in print. Click here to place a hold.

The Tuesday Afternoon Book Club meets on the third Tuesday of the month at 2:00 PM via Zoom.

Register here to drop in and discuss Silva’s creative re-imagining of Dickens’ inspiration for his holiday classic.

Laced with humor, rich historical detail from Charles Dickens’ life, and clever winks to his work, Samantha Silva’s Mr. Dickens and His Carol is an irresistible new take on a cherished classic.

Charles Dickens is not feeling the Christmas spirit. His newest book is an utter flop, the critics have turned against him, relatives near and far hound him for money. While his wife plans a lavish holiday party for their ever-expanding family and circle of friends, Dickens has visions of the poor house. But when his publishers try to blackmail him into writing a Christmas book to save them all from financial ruin, he refuses. And a serious bout of writer’s block sets in.

Frazzled and filled with self-doubt, Dickens seeks solace in his great palace of thinking, the city of London itself. On one of his long night walks, in a once-beloved square, he meets the mysterious Eleanor Lovejoy, who might be just the muse he needs. As Dickens’ deadlines close in, Eleanor propels him on a Scrooge-like journey that tests everything he believes about generosity, friendship, ambition, and love. The story he writes will change Christmas forever.

Further reading

Author website

New York Time Review

Ceasefire Magazine Review

Washington Independent Review of Books

Los Angeles Public Library Interview

Discussion Questions

BBC Culture | How did A Christmas Carol come to be?

Watch & LISTEN

Dialogue on PBS | Samantha Silva on Mr. Dickens and His Carol

Literary Hub Interview